Top Law scholars recognised

29 Aug, 2018
LexisNexis Prize winner Tessa Whale

AUT Law School’s top academic talent were honoured at the 2018 awards evening. The awards event, attended by AUT staff and students alongside members of the wider legal community, is an occasion to formally recognise the efforts of AUT’s successful students, says AUT Law School dean, Professor Charles Rickett.

“The School of Law is first and foremost a place which values academic achievement and seeks to promote critical approaches to the understanding and advancement of law in our society and beyond.

“The annual awards night gives us all an opportunity to celebrate, within that wider context, the achievements of our leading students, which achievements are truly outstanding.

“We celebrate also our having links with so many very generous sponsors, who make it possible for us to award such an impressive array of prizes,” says Professor Rickett.

Guest speaker and Maori Legal Issues category sponsor, Evolution Law director Tamina Cunningham-Adams, passed on advice to the assembled students, although admitted she didn’t consider herself “long toothed, wise, or of legal druid status like Dean Rickett”.

“While I may not be wise or distinguished, I am agile.  I am resourceful.

“My skills live in a hypothetical tool box.  I have hypothetical sledge hammers for smashing through ‘glass ceilings’, scalpels for precision work with difficult people, screwdrivers for those who try to screw me, and big spanners for those loose nuts,” says Tamina.

Congratulations to all the students recognised in the 2018 awards.


Law School Prize for the student with the best marks in Part I law papers: David Keogh

The College of Law New Zealand Prize for the best Part I student - South Campus: David Keogh

Dean’s List - for the top student in:

Legal System: Stella Gu

Constitutional Law: Ryan Marsich

Legal Reasoning and Writing: David Keogh


LexisNexis Prize for the student with the best marks in Part ll law papers: Tessa Whale

Chapman Tripp prize for Law of Contract and the Law of Torts: Tessa Whale

Baldwins Intellectual Property Prize: Rhiannon Stannard

Thomson Reuters prize in Property Law (Real Property): Tessa Whale

LexisNexis prize in Public Law: Sheri Patel

The Private Office Prize for Top Student in Private Law: Tessa Whale

Dean’s List - for the top student in:

Judicial Review of Administrative Action: Irina Saetkhanova

Law of Contract: Livvy Mitchell

Law of Torts: Tessa Whale


Law School prize in Criminal Law: Mina Kiryakos

Thomson Reuters prize for Sale of Land: Melanie Forsman

SBM Legal prize for Employment Law: Peter Ko

Evolution Lawyers prize for Maori Legal Issues: Drisana Sheely

Cambridge Press prize for Youth Justice: Mereana Te Whata

Dean’s List for the top student in:

ACC Law: James Cartwright

Clinical Legal Education (joint award): Connie Minett and Sheri Patel

Commercial Criminal Law: Mark Batly

Company Law: Mari Theron

Family Law: Rupert Dash

Health and Safety Law: Andre Joubert

Insolvency and Receivership: Alex Bennett

International Commercial Contracts: Jennifer van Rouveroy-Brown

International Environmental Law: John Kyle

Justice (joint award): Jebel Ali and Mark Bayly

Law and Psychiatry: Avril McIntyre

Law of Democracy: James Cartwright

Law of Evidence: James Cartwright

Legal Philosophy: Sanaria Ali

Legislation and Law-making: Natalie Devery

Local Government Law: James Cartwright

Misleading & Deceptive Conduct: Des Small

Problems in Patent Law: Georgia McCormack-Goeth

Refugee and Immigration Law (joint award): Lauren Gamble and Shinei Smith

Remedies in Private Law: Natalie Devery

Resolution Chambers Civil and Commercial Litigation: Amber Kempster

Resolution of Civil Disputes: Pavee Patanasiri

Statutory Interpretation: Olivia Skelton


Anderson Creagh Lai Prize for Personal Property: Tessa Whale

The College of Law New Zealand for the Top Student in Legal Ethics: Megan Grimwood

ETPC NZ’s Prize for Trusts (Estate and Tax Planning Council): Tessa Whale

Prestige Lawyers Prize for the student of Chinese descent with best undergraduate record in the LLB or LLB(Hons): Anson Lin

STEP NZ’s Prize For Trusts (Society of Trustees & Estate Practitioners): Aidan Tattley

The Matt Weber Memorial Prize for Commercial Transactions: Rosie Patrick


Law School Honours Award for the best honours dissertation: Katie Creagh


The Law School Award for second best undergraduate record: Samantha Hamilton

Dean’s Award for the student with the best undergraduate record in the LLB or LLB(Hons): James Cartwright

Website search