48 AUT finalists at 2019 Best Awards

07 Aug, 2019
Hamilton Now by Bianca Cross, Hannah Small and Megan Laxon
Hamilton Now by Bianca Cross, Hannah Small and Megan Laxon (Best Awards 2019 finalist - Graphic)

AUT School of Art and Design has 48 finalists at this year’s Best Awards.

The Best Awards is the design industry’s annual showcase recognising excellence in graphic, spatial, product, interactive and motion design.

Head of AUT School of Art and Design Andrew Withell says the school is really pleased with this year’s Best Awards finalists announcement.

He says, “Congratulations to all the finalists, we are really proud of you.”

“This great outcome is a reflection of the high calibre of staff and students here at AUT. Well done to all!”

The 2019 Best Awards winners will be announced in October.

Click here to find out more about the AUT Best Awards 2019 finalists.

AUT Finalists in the 2019 Best Awards


Patterns for Utopia – Hannah Small

Living in the In-between – Manami Miyaki

Hamilton Now – Bianca Cross, Hannah Small, Megan Laxon

Overview(ed) – Aprille Lopez

Veipa O E AATI – Shaun Naufahu

12.24 – Dion Choi

Material Sound – Lachlan Giles

Generation Z – Anna Hughes

SHIFT exhibition - Luke Guilford, Nathan Walker, Aimee Preston & Michael Moore

Promethean Projects - Joe Moore

Han – Jun Yun Choi

Aphant – Aimee Preston

Akairo Atui – Christopher Ogle-Piggott


Eatio – Bryoni Harper

WasteNot – Eilish Out-O’Reilly

Flashback – Zoe Jarvis

SHIFT exhibition - Luke Guilford, Nathan Walker, Aimee Preston, Zoe Jarvis, Eilish Out-O'Reilly & Michael Moore

Robin – Toni Clarke

DAIRY – Ivana Garcia

Moving Image

Astro - Vaughn Low, Jadon Miller, Alex Rankin & Claire Park

Flowers are my Passport - Hossien Najafi

Cupcakes – Nick Dew, Zach Fields, Wendy Fan & Hannah Rogers

Colourless – Enid Hu & Pae Nuanmangsor

Nga Aho Award

Nga Wai o te Waitemata – Nina Van Lier


Tracheostomy – Charlotte Dickson

_01 – Benny Butcher

Outflow – Oscar Zhong & Cairo Tynel Wetini-Ngaropo

The Kiwi - Painless Dental Anaesthetic – Kate Weatherly

Fa'amama – Tui Meki

FOLD - Sam McGerty & Jonathan Aquino

Microp – Nick Fromont

Playtime Garden – Levon Hutchinson

The Pendulum Chair – Finn Stapleton

Kiera Desktop Garden – Alice Thompson

Ranaga - Space Divder – Anton Elliot

Public Good Award

Nature@play – Gareth Abraham

the accessible Co-design Toolkit – Olivia Labattaglia


The Stillness of Motion – Michelle Whitworth

Fort Lane – Shawn Wimalaratne

NEW NIU – Sharon Semi-Tugia

Directional Line – Silva Kostandini

Redemption – Xuanyung Sun

witin: Penhouse Apartment for Agnes Martin – Chang Huang

Dramaturgical Encounter – Shivneel Prasad

Confabulations: Estranged Memories Unfolding Home – Frank Liu

Immersed In Captivating Time – Allen Gao

Un/making Home – Zeenia Irani

The Performance Terrain Theater – Lauren

Website search